Exam Stress

So as I’m writing this I’m in the middle of my exam week. I’m currently studying English at the University of Leiden and I’m about to finish my first semester.
But first I have to survive my exams. (I obviously started this blog at a very smart moment).

Last year has been very big and exciting for me, mostly because I started Uni. I’ve wanted to study English for the past 4 years and last September I finally started. And I was so excited. I still am. But of course I was also nervous. I was starting a new part of my life, and what if I didn’t like it as much as I thought I would? What if I wouldn’t make any friends? What if I wasn’t good enough?
Around exams these insecurities always resurface. What if I’m not good enough? What if I fail the exams? What should I do then?

But I know that I will be fine. I’ve been studying for more than a week and still have some days to learn before the hardest and most nerve-wrecking exam.
That is probably what I learned about stress over the past years, if you prepare well enough than it will be fine. If you do everything you can to be ready than there is nothing else you can do and even if it than doesn’t work out, life goes on. And that sounds cliche as heck, but it’s true. You won’t die from a failed test. Life won’t stop because you didn’t get the grade you wanted. If you are really disappointed you can always either re-take it or make sure you pass the next one.

Thanks for reading, and sorry for the ramble.

One comment

  1. Naomi Byrnes · January 9, 2017

    I love this perspective. We always find our way through disappointment.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment